Trouble comes when least expected

So we are in Crete. We came here as we were invited by friends to stay with them. They got a bit insecure about their place if that was baby safe enough and started offering us different solutions. We agreed to still stay with them but in last minute we decided to rent a Airbnb for a couple of days to decompress and chill out. This house was about 10 mins drive from the sea but imagine a designer house built by an Austrian artist and architect and so beautiful on the pics that we completely ignored that it wasn’t baby safe. Even the owner advised the house as not safe for kids under 2. The reason why is because it was full with steps. It was a huge house 110 square meters plus a huge garden having a view to the mountains. So impressive. Beautiful colours inside and out.

So we were very careful with Joy. We never left her alone especially around the steps. And she loved the steps. She wanted to climbed on them all the time. 4 nights passed by no issue. We left without any problems.

I also was scared driving at night after landing – but no issue.

I shit in my pants driving up hills and narrow paths. Well we are in Crete which is full with these things. So hello hills and narrow paths. It’s been 6 days I’m driving on you and still alive.

I think I’m slowly turning back to be a good Christian. Especially seeing all this little churches.

Then yesterday we arrived to our friends house. And it looks ok too. Oh well no bathing mat and poor little Joy slipped who I was bathing but she landed on her bum and it was ok.

Today morning we drove to another village where our car rent place is located to deal with the paper work. I found this amazing little chapel built on the sea. There was this narrow (what else..) path leading to it and from the distance it looked easy to walk on. Reality was that the sea splashed on the path and the stones got pretty slippery and I really had to focus to get to the chapel in safe. I did get there and I even had the luxury to spend 2 minutes completely alone inside before other tourists arrived. When I entered the chapel I had this really strange feeling that I’m not alone. I felt like centuries of prayers are with me. Breath of People who already passed away touched me.

Then when I walked back I just had some thoughts about these little Greek chapels which are always built on a places where difficult to get to. And other chapels around the world. So like you could get to God only by defending difficulties.

Anyway I had this lovely experience then we went to the car rent place and I needed to deal with paperwork and my dear husband just stayed outdoor and I also had to hold baby. Baby obviously didn’t want to sit in my lap as a little angel so I had to put her down and also tried to wave to Jody to come in and look after baby. I was holding her hand and then my hubby went around to bring in the buggy and Joy decided to go down those bloody three steps to her dad and my attention got distracted by a board where currency rate were written and she just slipped out of my hand and tripped and flipped and landed on her head her legs were in the sky turned around her neck in a weird somersault and for a minute I thought she broke her neck and gonna die.

Thanks to gods she cried for a couple of minutes got a big bruise on her forehead a I was shivering for hours but she seems to be alright.

Then in the evening she was playing with our host and I literally went out of the room for 30 seconds which was enough for her to fell and bang her head again. It was so horrible she was crying for so long I needed to offer a bit of painkiller breast. The good thing it’s worked and she is absolutely fine but I’m just super terrified that something would happen to her. My little angel.

So soon I think I turn to be a believer. Because there must be a guardian angel who looks after us not to totally f*ck up this parenting thing.

Leave a comment