Life during pandemic

It is pretty amazing how adaptive we are. It has been nearly a year that we live with COVID-19. We just got used to wear our masks when travelling or going to a shop. We just used to not hugging our friends but keep sanitising our hands and not doing anything. Absolutely nothing.

We just arrived back from Budapest to London and we need to self-isolate for 10 days plus spent a fortune on the mandatory tests. I still do not really understand why do I have to sit at home if I get tested 3 times. 1. three days prior to journey, 2. 2 days post journey 3. 7/8 days post journey. And I can also purchase another test to get tested 5 days post journey and get myself released from self isolation. Well after sending £540 on the mandatory tests I do not wish to spend more just to get released 2 days earlier.

And guess what: someone got tested positive who was on the same flight with us. So public health contacted us that we really have to stay at home till the end of the self-isolation time and cannot even do the test to release scheme. Not liked i planned…

Anyway I am actually pretty relaxed about spending a bit of time at home. We are always running somewhere even during lockdown. So we had a good cleaning session on Saturday, I sorted my tea cupboard on Sunday and made Joy’s curtain sun proof hoping that she would sleep a little longer in the dark room (well … it did not work. She still wakes up at 7:00 which is not that bad but wintertime she sometimes sleeps till 8:00…). We have plans to do a proper deep clean and sorting in the kitchen and in Joy’s room this weekend. So it is all good. And tbh it is nice to spend so much time with my little girl. She is adorable. After spending 6 weeks in Budapest she is now talking really nicely in Hungarian to me. And she can say “szeretlek” (I love you) which is the best thing to hear ever. 😀

So yes I do not mind being in quarantine since nothing really is going on anyway. No shops, no museums, no theatres, no venues, no restaurants, nothing. Not even the grass is growing. The weather is pretty bad too. So who cares? (Well I am saying this till the sun does come out.)

Anyway what I wanted to say is that is very interesting to see how we just get used to this life: not going anywhere, not doing anything, not meeting friends, if travelled then lock into our own house. Tests and masks and hand sanitisiser. Brand new world order.

I am wondering how long…UK is pretty good at vaccinating but will the vaccine help us getting back to normal? When we just hopped on a flight and went from one country to the other eg. visited my mum or just to get away from UK? Or life will never be the same as we knew it before the great pandemic???

Leave a comment